At times, you may find that it is no longer tenable to maintain your Facebook page for a number of reasons. It could be that the business you created the page for is no longer in existence, and managing the page is taking a lot of your time. Or perhaps the campaign you were running on the page has ended. Unfortunately, when many people try to delete a Facebook page, they realize that the process isn't as straightforward as they think. After all, a Facebook page resides inside a profile. If that sounds like you, don't worry, as we have a detailed guide on deleting a Facebook page on different devices.
How to Delete a Facebook Page on Desktop
If you want to delete your Facebook page on desktop, don't worry, as the process is pretty easy. Here are the steps you need to follow:
- On your favorite browser, open Facebook and log in.
- Click the left sidebar and choose Pages. If you have several pages, choose the one you would like to delete.
- After getting on the page, click on the left-hand menu and choose Settings. Take note that this step may be different for users of the new Pages experience, as they need to click Settings & Privacy, followed by Settings.
- In the left menu, click on Access & Control.
- Click Delete Page>Continue and follow the prompt. Facebook may require you to re-enter the password.
How to Delete a Facebook Page on Mobile
Many Facebook users access the platform on a mobile device, and therefore, it makes sense if you want to delete your page on your mobile device. To do that, you will need to first ensure that you are logged into the Facebook account where you have admin access. After that, you can follow these steps:
- Login into Facebook from the mobile app.
- Tap on the three lines menu icon located at the bottom corner of your page for iPhone users and the far right corner if you are using an Android device.
- Choose Pages before choosing the page you need to delete.
- Open the Settings by tapping on the gear icon.
- Scroll down until you get to Access & Control>Page Setting.
- Tap on Deactivation & Deletion.
- Choose Delete Page> Continue.
- Follow the instructions on the screen to confirm your choice.
Take note that on both desktop and app, Facebook will not delete the page immediately. Instead, you are given 30 days to choose whether you still want to go ahead with the process of deleting the page. After the 30 days have elapsed, the page will be deleted permanently.
How to Remove a Page from a Meta Business Portfolio
At times, you may not want to delete the page but to remove it from your Meta Business Portfolio. This could be for a number of reasons, such as selling the page or no longer being interested in it. Before you remove the page, you need to ensure you have disconnected the assets, such as WhatsApp, from the page. In that case, removing it is easy. All you need to do is:
- On your desktop, click on Meta Business Suite.
- From the left menu, click on Settings,
- Under the section of Accounts, choose Pages.
- Select the pages you would like to detach.
- Select Remove and choose Remove Page from the business portfolio.
Why Removing from a Portfolio Is Not the Same as Deleting
Some people assume that once they have removed a page from their portfolio, this amounts to deleting the page. However, that is not the case. Instead, removing a page only disconnects the management rights. On the other hand, deleting the page erases it completely. When you unlink a page, it will remain active, complete with its post and followers. Instead, it goes back to individual control. On the other hand, when you permanently delete a page, all the content and its assets are permanently removed. Consider alsochanging your name before deleting page.
Alternatives to Deleting
Remember that when you delete your Facebook page, the process cannot be undone. Perhaps that's why even Meta gives you 30 days to consider whether its still worth deleting. Before you choose to delete your Facebook page, you can consider several other options, such as:
Unpublish and Decide Later
Instead of taking a drastic step such as deleting the page, where you might end up regretting it later, why not consider unpublishing it? Once you unpublish the page, it will be hidden from the public so that only the managers and admins are able to see it. This is a temporary method of making the page private without having to delete it. To unpublish a Facebook page, you can follow these steps:
- Switch from your profile to the account you want to unpublish.
- Under the option of page management, go to Settings.
- Choose Access & Control.
- Select Unpublish Page>Continue.
- Choose Confirm to hide the page
Merge Duplicate Pages
Perhaps the reason you need to delete the Facebook page was because it was a duplicate page. In that case, Facebook allows you to merge the pages. But before you do that, you need to be the manager of both pages. The Facebook pages should also be identical, such as matching the name and location. Both pages should also be published and active. After that you need to do is:
- Make sure you are logged into the Facebook profile that manages both pages.
- Under the profile picture, tap Settings and Privacy and choose Settings.
- From the left side menu, select the page setup.
- Select Merge Pages followed by View.
- Choose Start request and choose the page you would like to combine.
Rebrand Instead of Starting from Zero
It takes a lot of effort to build and grow a Facebook page, and so you don't have to let those efforts go to waste. That's why instead of deleting your page, you might want to consider rebranding it. For instance, if you are deleting the page because your business is no longer in existence, you can rebrand the page to another business.
All you need to do is to change the name, the visual assets and even the past content to match your new brand image.
Transfer the Page to Someone Else
Another option would be to pass the Facebook page to another user. You can either gift the page to someone or sell it to them. Here are the steps to follow when transferring a page to someone else:
- Log in to your page from your profile.
- At the far right, click on your page's profile picture
- Open Settings and privacy>Settings.
- On the left side panel, choose Page setup followed by Page access.
- Tap on People with Facebook Access and tap Add New>Next.
- Add the name or email address of the person you would like to transfer the page to and select from the arising result.
- Choose Full Control so that they can have full ownership and admin rights. Select Give access and add a password.
- Ask the other party to accept your page invite. They can see that from their email or notification button.
- After they accept, refresh the page access menu.
- Next to your name, tap the three dots and select Remove access. You will need to confirm it's you by entering the password before the transfer can be completed.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does it take to permanently delete a Facebook Page?
Facebook gives you a 14-day grace period to decide whether you need the page to be permanently deleted.
Can you recover a deleted Facebook Page?
No. Once you delete your page, you cannot recover it
Does deleting a Page delete your personal profile?
No. After deleting a Facebook page, your profile will continue to exist.